Author Topic: BA Seacrh procedure with Hose reel  (Read 83586 times)

Offline crashball75

BA Seacrh procedure with Hose reel
« on: August 23, 2005, 01:39:17 PM »
What is anyones view on performing search with Hose reel and then using the hose reel as a guide line to get back to the entry point. I am very uncomfortable with this as not only does it mean the BA search team do not have control of the branch (for use in gas cooling and proper door entry procedures) but I can see no way that you could be sure the hose would either stay in the same place or even worse you attach your personal line to a hose which ends up in a big jumbled mess and you are totally disorientated.

I am pretty new to firefighting so didn't want to overly argue the point but would welcome any comments from more experienced members

(excellent site by the way which I stumbled accross by accident)

Offline Paul

« Reply #1 on: August 23, 2005, 04:46:43 PM »
I have never heard of anyone attaching themselves to hose.  Is this something new??

I don't even like the idea of guide lines never mind this scenario.I don't have a problem with using the hose as a guide to quickly find your exit, as this has been common for years.

Offline dave bev

« Reply #2 on: August 23, 2005, 06:15:58 PM »
using something you brought with you to find your way out is nothing new, whatever activity you undertake. however what you do use is based very much on the practicality and effectiveness of previous use/experience. i am not a fan of string or hose (and would never advocate anyone attching themselves to hose!)  but until something else exists is there any alternative - i actually think there is. if you cant get out, dont go in!

dave bev

Offline Billy

« Reply #3 on: August 23, 2005, 07:02:20 PM »
I once was witness to an exercise where 4 hosereels went in the same door and one then retreated due to a supposed problem with a BA set.
I think we all know what the outcome was?