Author Topic: London  (Read 8077 times)

Offline adamant19uk

London
« on: October 14, 2008, 07:42:23 PM »
I'm an 8 year Ff with a south coast brigade, considering a transfer to London.
Just wanted a little heads up on pros & cons if anyone has any, getting time off, routines, nasty things in the pipeline etc.
Thanks

Offline nearlythere

London
« Reply #1 on: October 22, 2008, 10:22:34 PM »
Quote from: adamant19uk
Just wanted a little heads up on pros & cons if anyone has any, getting time off, routines, nasty things in the pipeline etc.
Thanks
If you move to London Adamant you are more likely to get nasty things in your pipeline then where you are may be coming from if you get my drift. And at the tender age of 27 you will be in a very high risk group. Ghoules, spooks and even worse, a Firenet Forum Xmas Night Out, await you with glee.
We're not Brazil we're Northern Ireland.

Offline buffalosid

London
« Reply #2 on: October 28, 2008, 08:05:47 PM »
hi ..i was a firefighter ( 5yrs) stationed in central bristol. transfered into london 3 years ago and was lucky enough to be stationed at paddington -very very busy and steeped in hitory.

im not sure which brigade you are in but im sure youll find that london is much more laid back in many ways and the guys and gals still know how to enjoy work.
its a monster of a brigade so you here some horror stories but all in all it was a great experience for me ..operationaly it takes a little getting used to and i have to admit i hated it at first but once you get into the grove its fantastic.
youll be working in one of the worlds biggest brigades in a world famous city and if your central youll feel part of something special.

like everywhere the guys moan at the impending changes but its still a traditional brigade in many ways. plans to loose the beds are one rumour but i dont know anymore than that.

im now back in bristol but i do miss london .