Author Topic: Evacuation Simulator For Hospital  (Read 8996 times)

Student

Evacuation Simulator For Hospital
« on: March 11, 2005, 09:02:19 PM »
Hello,

I am a Computing Science student at Glasgow University and I am currently approaching the end of a team project in which we developed a computer based evacuation simulator for a local hospital. A screenshot of the project can be seen at the following link :

http://www.dcs.gla.ac.uk/~johnstoj/screen.jpg

The simulation was of progressive horizontal evacuation resulting from a fire including ward staff and ambulant/non-ambualnt patients. We have been kindly supported by advisors from the North Glasgow University Hospitals Division. The aim of the project was to produce a visual representation of the procedures involved in horizontal evacuation. The software also allows the user to input parameters such as numbers for staff and patients to show approximately the difference in evacuation time that this would cause.

The reason for this post is to ask if any of the forum members (preferably those who are employed in jobs related to fire safety or hospitals)  have come across such a piece of software for hospitals before and whether they think it could be worthwhile for use in training staff.

Many Thanks
J Johnston

Offline Colin Newman

• Healthfire
« Reply #1 on: March 14, 2005, 03:27:56 PM »
Many years ago the team at Greenwich University produced an initial simulation of hospital evacuation using their Exodus model.  They based their model on data from an evacuation caaried out in Hackney in the the 1970's.  The initial model was a reasonable approximation, but to my knowledge no further work was done to refine the initial study.

Early in 2000 NHS Estates was seeking to develop both fire models and evacuation models specific to hospitals, but couldn't raise sufficient funding.