Author Topic: Fire Door Keep Shut Signs in Blocks of Flats  (Read 13815 times)

Offline Rackman

Fire Door Keep Shut Signs in Blocks of Flats
« on: July 10, 2007, 06:48:05 PM »
Hello to anyone out there.  Im new to the forum so go easy on me.

I work as a safety adviser for a housing association,  up until now the fire brigade have been more than happy with the fire risk assessments,  we have done for  our sheltered living schemes and care homes.  We have been moving through with our flats and masionettes. and have hit a small problem.

All our fire doors through the common areas have no fire door keep shut signs on them.  

AP Doc B  as you all are very aware tells us to have signs.

On looking around not just our flats but other associations flats,  I found only 2 doors out of about 100 to have a sign.

I now have the problem of convincing a director that he needs to buy possibly 400 + signs and have them fixed to the doors.

The signs could well just be ripped off by yobs  and may also encourage the yobs to wedge them open.

Any advice would be most welcome.

Offline John Dragon

« Reply #1 on: July 10, 2007, 07:27:49 PM »
Cheap self adhesive ones, then if they rip em off, they are cheap to replace.
Beware of the big sign companies - they charge the earth!

Offline mark Simmonite

« Reply #2 on: November 30, 2007, 04:22:11 PM »
Quote from: Rackman

I work as a safety adviser for a housing association,  up until now the fire brigade have been more than happy with the fire risk assessments,  we have done for  our sheltered living schemes and care homes.  We have been moving through with our flats and masionettes. and have hit a small problem.

All our fire doors through the common areas have no fire door keep shut signs on them.  

On looking around not just our flats but other associations flats,  I found only 2 doors out of about 100 to have a sign.