Author Topic: DFS transfer to LAFS  (Read 26453 times)

Offline RLFACTOR

DFS transfer to LAFS
« on: October 15, 2005, 02:15:00 PM »
I am a wholetime firefighter employed by the defence fire service I would like to become wholetime for a county brigade however the only way of doing so i am told is to leave my current brigade go through the selection process and do another wholetime course. Why is it that i cannot transfer from one to the other? I have been investigating IPDS and there seems to be nothing to stop me but whenever i phone and ask i am told that i would not be eligable! even though we do the same job just on different station grounds! Our training is virtually the same except DFS undergo an aircraft crash phase all the DFS training meets home office standards and goes through the manual A-Z where LAFS seem to miss certain bits out?

Please can anybody shed any light on this and advise me on what to do!

Thank you

Chris Houston

DFS transfer to LAFS
« Reply #1 on: October 15, 2005, 03:16:41 PM »
RLFACTOR,

Thanks for joining and using the forum.

It get's complicated if we have identical messages in more than one area, so I've taken out the other one.  Hope you don't mind too much.

Chris
Site Admin

Offline Cut Fire Service Pay

DFS transfer to LAFS
« Reply #2 on: October 15, 2005, 06:12:58 PM »
I think it depends which brigade you apply to. DFS training is to a very high standard and like you say it is done by the book, they even still do the live ladder carry down. I would try another brigade as I know of quite a few DFS lads that have joined LAFS.

Offline RLFACTOR

DFS transfer to LAFS
« Reply #3 on: October 15, 2005, 10:16:27 PM »
Thank you for your reply i will have another scout about! I live in hampshire and am also retained at my local station I hear this is another route in using the intergrated personnel development system so will kepp my ear to the ground.

Any more info is very welcome!

Offline docfin

DFS transfer to LAFS