Author Topic: UNWANTED HEAT SOURCES  (Read 24758 times)

UNWANTED HEAT SOURCES
« on: February 11, 2004, 09:37:48 AM »
Hi folks
Can anyone list examples of unwanted heat sources which should be taken into account when doing risk assessments

I have thought of electrical equipment (gets hot) ditto with any type of machinery, radiators etc

But can anyone give me any better examples - I am new to this so apologise if my recent questions have seem somewhat irritating and common sense

Thanks

Offline banjo 2

UNWANTED HEAT SOURCES
« Reply #1 on: February 11, 2004, 04:01:25 PM »
The things you mention are not unwanted heat sources unless they are producing heat in a manner or place for which they were not designed.  The electric light bulb is great unless combustible material is stored in close proximity.  So consider the area you are assessing, are heat producing appliances likely to cause a problem? does that portable heater require fixing so that it cannot be moved to an unsafe position.   Anything can be a problem if not correctly used so instead of trying to make a list risk assess the area.

Offline Ken Taylor

UNWANTED HEAT SOURCES
« Reply #2 on: February 12, 2004, 02:28:42 PM »
Presumably you are going down the 'fire triangle' route in carrying out risk assessments. Consider all actual and potential heat and ignition sources (as well as fuel and oxygen) including room heaters, electricity, friction, machinery, plant, chemicals, hot-work, smoking materials, etc.

Offline colin todd

• Civilianize enforcement -you know it makes sense.
    • http://www.cstodd.co.uk
UNWANTED HEAT SOURCES
« Reply #3 on: February 12, 2004, 10:03:39 PM »
Janet and John do fire risk assessment. Makes you hanker for the good old fascist inspecting officers (well maybe not yours Messey). Or maybe it just needs a standard for fire risk assessments. Got to look to the future and all that, when the world and his wife will (or maybe wont) be carrying out FRAs.
Colin Todd, C S Todd & Associates