Author Topic: london f.B pros and cons  (Read 33134 times)

guest28

london f.B pros and cons
« on: May 23, 2005, 12:45:28 PM »
im a wholetime firefighter serving in bristol who is relocating to the south east ( wifes job).
eventually im goining to need to transfer into a local brigade , id prefer to continue working in a city brigade but have heard mixed reports on london such as poor moral, excesive discipline, a bullying culture and general disinterest from the fellas themselves.
id especially appreciate any info from firefighters who have transfered into london on the brigade culture and frequency of working jobs, im told they are few and far between although this seems improbable, compared to other brigades.

thanks

guest28

london f.B pros and cons
« Reply #1 on: May 23, 2005, 12:49:32 PM »
id just like to add that the reports ive been given have all been from firefighters who claim to have enjoyed their time in the brigade but who have transfered out of london for various reasons so perhaps the views are not entirely without bias or resentment.

messy

london f.B pros and cons
« Reply #2 on: May 23, 2005, 11:08:46 PM »
Poor morale - Yes (is Avon different?)
Excessive discipline - No.
Bullying culture- No and if you say it again I'll punch yer face in!!
General disinterest. - Yes
Working Jobs. - Depends where you're located. We've many quiet Stations and a few really busy ones

The job is changing rapidly. London, perhaps, will be more PC than your old Brigade. Minorities seem to have a unbalanced influence in all matters and those who try to redress the balance are branded racists, sexist or some other type of 'ist'

LFB's latest IRMP is about to be implimented which is closing a west end station and moving 10 others from areas where rescues are often made (inner London), to areas where fire deaths occur - the suburbs (where many of the victims are dead prior to us turning out). The net result will be more fire deaths