Author Topic: Distance from station  (Read 24385 times)

Offline Tiswas

Distance from station
« on: April 25, 2008, 01:01:21 PM »
Hi new here,
I just have the one question for the moment. I will be applying for a place as a retained firefighter shortly however I live a bit of a distance from the station and i'm not sure if I could get there in the obligatory 5 minutes. I was wondering if there is any lee way on the time, or as I am only working part time whether or not I could stay at the station when (IF I get in) i'm on call?

Thanks

Offline mc6699

Distance from station
« Reply #1 on: April 25, 2008, 01:28:11 PM »
Hi folks can any 1 please tell what is emtailed ant a medical for the northern ireland fire service i asked this question yesterday and got a reply from compulsor but i not sure what i have done this is my first time on this forum but i can not get back to his answer i think i have  unsubcribed to the topic and not sure how to get back to it any help and advice would be great. or has any recently done or passed a medical for the nifrs get in touch.

Midland Retty

Distance from station
« Reply #2 on: April 25, 2008, 01:30:52 PM »
Quote from: Tiswas
Hi new here,
I just have the one question for the moment. I will be applying for a place as a retained firefighter shortly however I live a bit of a distance from the station and i'm not sure if I could get there in the obligatory 5 minutes. I was wondering if there is any lee way on the time, or as I am only working part time whether or not I could stay at the station when (IF I get in) i'm on call?

Thanks
Best thing to do is have a word with the Officer in Charge down at your local fire station. Policies on response times differ from brigade to brigade so wouldnt be able to give you a definitive answer

Offline Tiswas

Distance from station
« Reply #3 on: April 25, 2008, 04:08:05 PM »
So are you not automatically discounted from applying if you live too far away from the station then?

Midland Retty