Author Topic: BAA Recruitment  (Read 23006 times)

Offline mh

BAA Recruitment
« on: February 17, 2007, 03:12:52 PM »
I have been a Firefighter for the past six years and qualified in all area having gained nationally recognised competency under the IPDS framework in the form of my NVQ Level 3 EFS Operations in the Community.

I am currently serving as an Aviation Firefighter within the MOD and due for release from my current role in summer 2007 after having gained my CAA ticket in aviation firefighting at the IFTC.
Does anyone know if I would have to go through the same recruitment procedure as "Joe Bloggs" having completed the CAA course which BAA put their new firefighters through.
Any experiences or advice would be great

Cheers guys.

Offline Yeebsy

BAA Recruitment
« Reply #1 on: February 21, 2007, 12:03:26 AM »
Sorry to break this to you, but, yes. All recruits (even if you have your ticket) now go to Teeside for basic training.
Isn't it funny, how if you sit in a library and scream, everyone looks at you and tuts...but do the same thing on an aircraft and everyone joins in!

Offline Alba

BAA Recruitment
« Reply #2 on: February 21, 2007, 06:38:31 PM »
I have just finished at IFTC, and a couple of blokes were their on a bridging course, having come from retained. They didnt need to do the FF initial course apparently.

Offline Fireguy1230

BAA Recruitment
« Reply #3 on: February 21, 2007, 09:30:04 PM »
Hi MH

Certainly from my experience with the AFS, you wouldn't be sent to Teesside to re sit your course again. That wouldn't achieve anything.

With regards to recruitment, i'm afraid that BAA do not operate a two teir entry system. So regardless of your experience you would still have to go through the same assessment stages and recruit tests as people from other walks of life.

Obviously having experience will give you an advantage in terms of interview examples.

Les

Offline Yeebsy

BAA Recruitment
« Reply #4 on: February 22, 2007, 01:42:58 PM »