Author Topic: Your Opinions Please  (Read 5785 times)

Offline Firewolf

Your Opinions Please
« on: January 12, 2006, 03:26:50 PM »
Forgive me as there is already a very similar thread that has been posted about retained fire crews today but I decided to start of a new one for reasons which will become clear.

Im currently A fire safety inspecting officer with a large metro brigade. My neighbouring village is covered by a shire brigade which desperately needs extra retained firefighters.

However my station commander has stated that he would not allow me to undertake retained duties in my own time.

I can see his point - for instance could I be late for work thru attending an incident during the night?, could i arrive to work tired etc. I certainly do not wish to upset him, but I also really would like to help out my community. What should I do?

What are your opinions - does anyone know if my ADO can under employment laws tell me that I can't go retained - can anyone give me a defence to tactfully sell the idea to my ADO and get him to change his mind?

Thanks
BE ALERT BE VIGILANT BE SAFE  (c)

Offline Game on

Your Opinions Please
« Reply #1 on: January 12, 2006, 03:49:38 PM »
I would ask your ADO how he thinks the 99.9% of retained firefighters accross the country manage when they have to go to work the next day feeling tired etc. You won't be the first and definately won't be the last!
With most brigades desperate for retained firefighters I would have thought that your ADO would positively encourage you to join. Do you think its because you are with a metropolitan brigade and they don't have much to do with the retained service?

Offline fireftrm

Your Opinions Please
« Reply #2 on: January 12, 2006, 05:28:38 PM »